This article covers:


User Roles

Every Qualio user must be assigned a user role when added to Qualio. The role can be modified at any time by a Qualio Admin. There are three User Roles in Qualio: Basic, Normal, and Quality. These roles have incremental access to Qualio features and functionality.

Additionally, Billing and Admin access can be granted to any user in any role.

Administrative Permissions

Document Workflow Permissions

1: Draft must be owned by user trying to access it

2: Co-approval (at least one Quality user is mandatory)

Training Permissions

1: Only documents they own.

Events Permissions

1: Configurable on a per-user basis, regardless of user role, by Qualio Support

2: Co-approval (at least one Quality is mandatory)

Suppliers Permissions

1: Co-approval (at least one Quality user is mandatory)

Reporting Permissions

Design Controls Permissions

1: Only Reviews they own.

2: Once approved, Reviews cannot be edited or deleted.

Admin Role and Permission

New Admin Role Sandbox / Production Release

This article includes images and features of the new Admin Role. This will be available in existing customer sandbox accounts in early November. Customer communication with exact dates will be sent to Quality users when available. For questions, contact our Support team or your Customer Success Manager.

The NEW Admin Role released in Q4 2022 addresses the distinction and needs of Quality Teams and IT/Operation Teams. Quality Teams need access to workflow management settings, like templates and tags, while IT/Operation Teams need access to User Management settings. Previous to the new Admin Role, all these features were listed in the Organization Settings, which meant either IT/Operation users were granted access to settings they didn’t need, or Quality Teams had to manage users as well as their document stack, quality events, suppliers etc.

With the NEW Admin Role comes a NEW Admin Settings Page. This is the new home for User Management where Admins can invite or remove users, add or delete user groups, and manage user properties like role and user group access.

These updates grant customers flexibility to designate Admin responsibilities to people outside their quality management function. It also sets Qualio up to pursue future functionality that promotes self-service and autonomy among our customer base to configure Qualio features.

Grant Admin Access to a User

During Qualio Onboarding and during initial feature launch, Qualio Customer Success (CSM, Onboarding Manager, or Support) will need to enable select users with Admin Access. From there, the Admin can grant Admin access to other users.

Admin Access can be granted when inviting new users.

  1. Click the gear icon in the top navigation bar and select Admin settings from the dropdown.

  2. Select Users on the left-side menu.

  3. Click the Invite user button.

  4. Enter the user’s email address, modify the User Role (as needed), and check the box for Admin Access.

  5. Click the Send Invitation button.

Admin Access can be granted or removed from an existing user.

  1. Click the gear icon in the top navigation bar and select Admin settings from the dropdown.

  2. Select Users on the left-side menu.

  3. Identify the user, then click the expansion button and select Edit User.

  4. There you will see the same modal as above and can check or uncheck the Admin Access checkbox. Then click Save.

From the Users page, you can see at a glance who has Admin Access in the far right column.

Billing Access

The Billing Access permission is available on a per-user basis. Quality users have the ability to opt themselves or other users (Normal and/or Basic Users) in or out of access to the Billing Page. If Normal or Basic users are granted access, they will see the Organization Settings option from the gear icon in the top navigation bar, but will only be able to access the “Billing Page”.

To grant / remove access to the Billing page:

  1. Click the gear icon in the top navigation bar and select Admin settings from the dropdown.

  2. Select Users on the left-side menu.

  3. Identify the user then click the expansion button and select Edit User.

  4. Check or uncheck the Billing Access checkbox as needed. Then click Save.

From the Users page, you will see which users have access to Billing in the far right column.

Qualio Controlled Permissions & Access

The following features are exclusively controlled by Qualio in addition to Beta features not listed. For access to these features, contact the Qualio Support Team via the in-app chat.

  • Access to Events

  • Access to Design Controls

  • Access to view and upload to the Migrations Manager

  • API Access

  • Access to 3rd party Integrations

Did this answer your question?